Be My Neighbor

Be My Neighbor

Members of Chicago’s community development world gathered Tuesday evening for the 16th annual Chicago Neighborhood Development Awards (CNDA). Established by the Local Initiatives Support Corporation/Chicago, the CNDA recognizes outstanding achievement in neighborhood real estate development and community building. This year, ten honorees were celebrated in a ceremony attended by Mayor Richard M. Daley. The CNDA is the largest awards program of its kind in the country. In addition to the prestige of winning, many of the awards are complemented by a monetary gift. Read the full list and see images of some of the winning projects after the jump.

CNDA Winners:

The Chicago Community Trust Outstanding Community Strategy of the Year:
The Pilsen Quality-of-Life planning process
Implementing a plan created by the Pilsen Planning Committee, community members have come together to implement strategic improvements in five areas including education, housing, family, economy, and image.

The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Award for Outstanding Non-Profit Neighborhood Real Estate Project:
Homan Arthington Foundation for the Charles H. Shaw Technology Learning Center
A public charter school has moved into the Power House facility of the original Sears Roebuck and Co. world headquarters in North Lawndale after an adaptive reuse project using a combination of historic preservation and green elements.

The Polk Bros. Foundation Affordable Rental Housing Preservation Award:
Mercy Housing Lakefront for Malden Arms Apartments
Mercy Housing Lakefront brought together residents, community members, and layers of private and public financing to both preserve and improve existing affordable rental housing at the Malden Arms Apartments in Uptown.

The Outstanding For-Profit Neighborhood Real Estate Project Award:
Holsten Real Estate Development Corporation and Turnstone Development for Whistler Crossing
Utilizing 17 layers of funding, Holsten Real Estate and Turnstone were able to complete a development of sustainably designed modern and historic buildings as well as local infrastructure improvements.

Special Recognition Award:
Community Economic Development Law Project (CEDLP)

Founded in 1985, the CEDLP links individuals and organizations in neighborhoods all over Chicago with needed legal assistance.

Norman Bobbins Leadership Award:
Bernita Johnson-Gabriel
, Executive Director of the Quad Communities Development Corporation

Friend of the Neighborhood Award:
Michael W. Scott
, former President of the Chicago Board of Education

Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Architectural Excellence in Community Design:
UrbanWorks for the UNO Veterans Memorial School Campus
Farr Associates for Whistler Crossing
SMNG-A Architects for Langston Hughes Elementary School