Some of Our Faves from the AIA LA Awards

Some of Our Faves from the AIA LA Awards

Eric Owen Moss’s Samitaur Tower, one of our faves

AIA/LA hosted its annual Design Awards last night at LACMA, an event that while not too full of people (that pesky recession) was full of astoundingly good projects. The AIA made us really happy, awarding AN a Presidential Award (Thanks AIA/LA President Paul Danna) for “Architectural Interpreter”. Aw Shucks.. Other notable winners included Firm of the Year Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects and Gold Medal winner Brenda Levin. Since there were a hefty number of Design Award winners, we’ve decided to pick out a few of our favorites. And so without further ado we present the first ever, completely unofficial, AIA/LA Awards Awards!

Perot Museum of Nature and Science, Dallas, Morphosis

Laumeier Sculpture Park Museum, St. Louis, Pugh + Scarpa

3631 Holdredge Avenue Building, Culver City, Lynch/Eisinger

Pittman Dowell Residence, Michael Maltzan Architecture

Czech Embassy, Washington D.C., Your Building Here

Performance Capture Studio, San Francisco, Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects with Kanner Architects

Palms Residence, Venice, Daly Genik

Conga Room, Belzberg Architects

41 Cooper Square, New York, Morphosis

Deichmann Center, Beer Sheva, Israel, Vert Architects