Registration open! What to know about AN’s 4th annual Best of Design Awards

Bragging Rights

Registration open! What to know about AN’s 4th annual Best of Design Awards

Earlier this month, The Architect’s Newspaper launched its 4th Annual Best of Design Awards. It’s a unique opportunity to showcase your great buildings, building elements, and other architectural-based categories that are not covered by other competitions.

This year, AN’s Best of Design Awards has expanded to include 26 categories. Here are just a few examples of this year’s categories:

Building of the Year – 4 Winning Entries
We’re seeking the best new building in each of these regions – East, West, Midwest, and Southwest.

Interiors 3 Winning Entries

We’ve expanded our Interiors category to cover residential, retail, and workplace.

Temporary Installation
Whether your installation is a site-specific exhibition or it created an entirely new site, enter your work that showcases materials, techniques, and invention.

Urban Design
Built or unbuilt, enter your design plans that focus on groupings of buildings, streets, and public spaces to create a more sustainable and functional neighborhood or city.

Young Architects Award
Emerging architects or firms often have the talent but don’t always get the glory. This category seeks to celebrate the work of young practices (10 years or less) or professionals (35 years or less). All project types are eligible.

Architectural Models – Analog + Digital
Whichever form is your favorite—virtual or analog, interior or exterior, landscaping or urban—show the world how you build, on a small scale. Your model does not need to have come to fruition, and all scaled architecture types are eligible.

For each category winner and honorable mention, the jury will be looking at a project’s strength of presentation, evidence of innovation, creative use of new technology, sustainability, and most importantly, good design. This year’s jury is composed of a mix of AEC professionals—architects, engineers, a landscape architect, and AN editors. Winners and honorable mentions will be published in a new publication dedicated to AN’s Best of Design Awards that will be included with the December 2016 print edition and distributed at industry events and conferences throughout 2017.

The submission deadline is Friday, September 30, 2016. More information about the competition, including past years’ winners, see the Best of Design Awards site.