Scaffolding in the Rose Main Reading Room. (Max Touhey Photography / NYPL)
The 1911 rooms on the third floor of the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building (main library) on Fifth Avenue at 42nd Street were closed to the public for a two-year, $12 million renovations that recreated the 27-by-33-foot James Wall Finn mural on the ceiling of the public catalogue room; restored the Rose Room’s chandeliers; replicated the fallen rosette that started it all; and reinforced its 900 siblings in the two rooms. The rooms reopen to the public on October 5; visit that week to see an accompanying exhibition that is on view through October 9.
The Rose Main Reading Room, restored. (Max Touhey Photography / NYPL)
Under the direction of its project manager, AECOM‘s Tishman Construction Corporation, renovations were completed a few months ahead of schedule.
“The Library has eagerly anticipated the reopening of these glorious rooms, architectural gems which for over 100 years have been home to scholars, writers, students, and all members of the public who want to access our renowned research collections, learn, and create,” NYPL president Tony Marx said in a statement. “As great stewards of all of our libraries, we are proud of this important project, which ensures that these spectacular spaces remain as inspiring as they were on they day they opened.”
This project was completed almost concurrently with Gensler and Tishman Construction’s collections storage project in the same building, two levels below ground. The storage and conveyance system can accommodate 4.3 million research volumes; the library will transfer materials to its new bunker through early 2017.