Graham Foundation announces 2017 grants for individuals

The Chosen Few

Graham Foundation announces 2017 grants for individuals

The Graham Foundation has announced this year’s class of 72 grantees. Over $560,000 is being awarded to individuals and teams, with projects ranging from exhibitions and publications to live performances and site-specific installations.

The 72 projects were selected from over 700 applications, which came from around the world. The grantees hail from 20 different countries, from fields including architecture, design, curation, filmmaking, visual arts, music, and writing.

“Many of our grantees this year are exploring the agency of design,” explained Graham Foundation director Sarah Herda in a press release. “They are testing the limits of conventional practice to make new work that directly engages the social and political dimensions of the designed environment.”

In the past 61 years, the Graham Foundation has awarded grants to more than 4,300 projects.

This year’s grantees include:


Marcelo Araya, Andrés Garcés, Iván Ivelic & Manuel Sanfuentes

Daniel Cardoso Llach

Assaf Evron

Nathan Friedman

Anna Halprin

Suzanne Harris-Brandts

& Angela Wheeler

Rick Lowe

Zahra Malkani & Shahana Rajani

Senam Awo Okudzeto

Maxi Spina

Martine Syms

Film/Video/New Media Projects

Josef Asteinza & Mariano Ros

TOMA: Leandro Cappetto, Mathias Klenner, Eduardo Pérez, Ignacio Rivas & Ignacio Saavedra

Aggie Ebrahimi, Oscar Molina, Brenda Isabel Steinecke Soto, Catalina Ortiz & Sandra Tabares-Duque

Daniel Eisenberg

Sean Lally

Liam Young

Public Programs

Seán Curran & David Skidmore, with Diana Balmori


Kunlé Adeyemi & Suzanne Lettieri

Esra Akcan

Barry Bergdoll & Jonathan Massey

Caitlin Berrigan

Michael Carriere & David Schalliol

Irene Cheng, Charles L. Davis II & Mabel O. Wilson

Alison J. Clarke

Francesco Dal Co

Roberto Damiani

Martha Deese

Teresa Fankhänel

Leonardo Finotti

Reto Geiser

Design Earth: Rania Ghosn & El Hadi Jazairy

Cristina Goberna & Urtzi Grau

Sarah Williams Goldhagen

Maria Gough

Helen Gyger

Aimi Hamraie

Rory Hyde

Office for Political Innovation: Andrés Jaque

Omar Kholeif

Tiffany Lambert

Paolo Nicoloso

Conor O’Shea

Itohan I. Osayimwese

Kyong Park

Angelo Plessas

Mil M2: Fernando Portal

Anders Herwald Ruhwald

Catherine Seavitt Nordenson

Elisa Silva

Christopher Sims

Anna-Sophie Springer & Etienne Turpin

Molly Wright Steenson

Paulo Tavares

Allyson Vieira


Michelle Moore Apotsos

Tulay Atak

Lee Azus

Andrea Bagnato

Eva Díaz

WAI Think Tank: Nathalie Frankowski & Cruz Garcia

Miyuki Aoki Girardelli

Virginia Hanusik

Sophie Debiasi Hochhäusl

Branden W. Joseph, Felicity D. Scott & Mark Wasiuta

Jeffrey Mansfield

Rebecca O’Neal Dagg

Jason Oddy

MK Smaby & Carolyn Wheeler

Irene V. Small

Despina Stratigakos

Chat Travieso

For more on the Graham Foundation, visit its website here.