AIA New York State announces 2017 Design Awards winners


AIA New York State announces 2017 Design Awards winners

AIA New York State announces 2017 Design Awards Winners. Seen here: Bar House by Audrey Matlock Architect. (Peter Aaron)

The American Institute of Architects New York State (AIANYS) has announced the winners of its 49th annual Design Awards. Honoring architects, designers, and planners from New York State as well works completed by others in New York State, the winners will be officially recognized at a reception held on November 10, this year in Albany, New York.

AIANYS President Robert E. Stark said, “Demonstrative of what we have come to expect in New York, these buildings are simply amazing.  These structures are an investment in the built environment and add value to the communities they serve. Modern to traditional, preservation to unbuilt, they are remarkable in their own right. I would like to acknowledge all who submitted their projects and congratulate the recipients of these prestigious awards.”

The 28 winners have been sorted into nine categories of which can be found below.

Adaptive Reuse & Historic Preservation

(David Sundberg/Esto)

St. Ann’s Warehouse – Award of Excellence
Marvel Architects

Read more from AN here.

(Kevin Weber)

Sagamore Pendry Rec Pier Hotel – Award of Excellence
Beatty Harvey Coco Architects
Baltimore, MD


(James Rewing/Otto)

National September 11 Memorial Museum at the World Trade Center – Award of Merit
Davis Brody Bond, LLP
New York

Read more from AN here. 

(Thaddeus Rombauer)

Bergdorf Goodman – Award of Citation
New York

(Luc Castel)

Dior Seoul – Award of Citation
Peter Marino Architect
Seoul, South Korea

Commercial & Industrial: Large Projects

(Paul Warchol)

Novartis Oncology Building – Award of Excellence
East Hanover, NJ

(Albert Vecerka/Esto)

Baccarat Hotel & Residences – Award of Merit
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
New York

(Chris Cooper)

Cummins Indy Distribution Headquarters – Award of Merit
Deborah Berke Partners
Indianapolis, IN

Read more from AN here. 

Commercial & Industrial: Small Projects

(Adrian Wilson)

Hublot Fifth Avenue – Award of Excellence
Peter Marino Architect
New York


(Bill Timmerman)

Arizona State University Beus Center for Law and Society – Award of Excellence
Ennead Architects
Phoenix, AZ

(Albert Večerka/Esto)

Kent State Center for Architecture and Environmental Design – Award of Excellence
Kent, Ohio

Read more from AN here.

(Magda Biernat)

Center for Character and Leadership Development – Award of Excellence
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
Colorado Springs, CO

Read more from AN here.

(Richard Barnes)

Vassar College Bridge for Laboratory Sciences – Award of Merit
Ennead Architects
Poughkeepsie, NY

Read more from AN here.

(David Revette/Revette Studio)

Onondaga Lakeview Amphitheater – Award of Citation
DLR Group | Westlake Reed Leskosky
Geddes, NY

(Nick Merrick/Hedrich Blessing)

FBI Biometric Technology Center – Award of Citation
Clarksburg, WV
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
New York, NY

(Greg Benson)

Perry World House – Award of Citation
1100 Architect

Read more from AN here.

(Greg Benson)

Theater Renovation Project – Award of Citation
Popli Design Group
Rochester, NY

(Reid Freeman)

Duke West Union District Bridge/Pavilion – Award of Citation
Architecture Operations D.P.C.
Durham, NC


(Masaki Hamada, Kawasumi Kobayashi Kenji Photograph Office Co.Limited)

Josai i-House Dormitory – Award of Citation 
Studio SUMO
Togane, Japan

(Hufton + Crow)

Ogden Centre for Fundamental Physics – Award of Citation
Studio Libeskind
Durham, United Kingdom

Residential, Multifamily

(Iwan Baan)

VIA 57 West – Award of Excellence
BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group
New York

Read more from AN here.

Residential, Small

(Paul Warchol)

Michigan Lake House – Award of Excellence
Desai Chia Architecture
Leelanau, MI

(Peter Aaron)

Bar House – Award of Merit
Audrey Matlock Architect
East Hampton, NY

(Manollo Yllera)

Southampton House – Award of Merit
Peter Marino Architect
Southampton, NY

(Joshua McChugh)

Old Orchard – Award of Citation
Blaze Makoid Architecture
East Hampton, NY

(Nikolas Koenig)

De Maria Pavilion – Award of Citation
Gluckman Tang
Bridgehampton, NY

Read more from AN here.


(STUDIO V Architecture)

Maker Park – Award of Citation
STUDIO V Architecture

Read more from AN here.

Urban Planning/Design

(Tom Scerbo)

Southwest Brooklyn – Award of Excellence

Read more from AN here.