AIASF Awards highlight game-changing Bay Area designs

Best In Show

AIASF Awards highlight game-changing Bay Area designs

AIA|SF has unveiled its 2019 design awards winners. Shown: The O'Donohue Family Stanford Educational Farm by CAW Architects (John Sutton Photography)

The American Institute of Architects, San Francisco chapter (AIASF) has announced the award recipients of its 2019 AIASF Design Awards program. This year, the group is honoring projects located throughout the San Francisco Bay Area as well as in other parts of the country in architecture and interior design categories with special awards highlighting projects that excel in historic preservation, community infrastructure, urban transformation, and other areas. 

Included in the list of winners this year are Aidlin Darling Design’s In Situ restaurant at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Saint Mary’s Student Chapel by Mark Cavagnero Associates, and the Rain installation in Washington, D.C., by Thurlow Small Architecture + NIO architecten, among many others.

The 2019 AIASF Design Awards program was juried in New York City in partnership with the AIA New York. The jury deciding the awards program includes Katherine Chia of Desai Chia Architecture, Stefan Knust of Ennead Architects, Jason Long of OMA, Susan T. Rodriguez, and Kim Yao of Architecture Research Office.

See below for a full list of winners:


Photo of rooftop terrace
The Monterey Conference Center by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill (Bruce Damante)


Monterey Conference Center
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP

Ridge House
Mork Ulnes Architects

Roseland University Prep
Aidlin Darling Design

Saint Mary’s Student Chapel
Mark Cavagnero Associates

Photo of three-story apartment building
The Amador Apartments by jones | haydu (Bruce Damonte)


The Amador Apartments
jones | haydu

Tree House
Aidlin Darling Design

Photo of a bedroom with a rock wall outside a large window
Kua Bay by Walker Warner Architects (Douglas Friedman Photography)


Kua Bay
Walker Warner Architects

SoMA Residence, Artist Gallery + Studio
Dumican Mosey Architects

The O’Donohue Family Stanford Educational Farm
CAW Architects

University of California, Merced, Pavilion at Little Lake
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Interior Architecture

Photo of a restaurant interior
In Situ restaurant by Aidlin Darling Design (Matthew Millman Photography)


In Situ
Aidlin Darling Design

Photo of a storefront
Studio Dental II by Montalba Architects (Kevin Scott)


Confidential Financial Services Firm

Studio Dental II
Montalba Architects

El Pípila
Schwartz and Architecture


Photo of a large red brick building with the Golden Gate Bridge in the background
Lodge at the Presidio by Architectural Resources Group (David Wakely Photography)

Commendation for Historic Preservation

Lodge at the Presidio
Architectural Resources Group

Photo of the Hunters Point Shoreline.
Hunters Point Shoreline by envelope A+D. (Marion Brenner)

Commendation for Urban Design

Hunters Point Shoreline
envelope A+D

Photo of El Pípila restaurant.
El Pípila by Schwartz and Architecture (Bruce Damante)

Commendation for Social Responsibility

El Pípila
Schwartz and Architecture

Photo of five-story apartment building
901 Fairfax Avenue by Paulett Taggart Architects + David Baker Architects (Bruce Damante)

Special Commendation for Commitment to Community Spaces

901 Fairfax Avenue
Paulett Taggart Architects + David Baker Architects

Photo of lobby with wood slat ceiling
Half Moon Bay Library by Noll & Tam Architects (Anthony Lindsey)

Special Commendation for Sustainable Community Infrastructure

Half Moon Bay Library
Noll & Tam Architects

Photo of a light installation under a highway overpass
Rain by Thurlow Small + NIO architecten (Sam Kittner)

Special Commendation for Urban Infrastructure Enhancement

Thurlow Small + NIO architecten

Photo of a five-story apartment building
1100 Ocean Avenue Supportive Family and Transitional-Aged Youth Housing by Herman Coliver Locus Architecture (Bruce Damonte)

Special Commendation for Urban Transformation

1100 Ocean Avenue Supportive Family and Transitional-Aged Youth Housing
Herman Coliver Locus Architecture