There's only one month left to enter Archpaper's 2019 Best of Design Awards

Don't Wait Too Late

There's only one month left to enter Archpaper's 2019 Best of Design Awards

Transart Foundation by SCHAUM/SHIEH, the 2018 AN Best of Design Awards Building of the Year winner (Naho Kubota)

Don’t wait until it’s too late to enter the 2019 AN Best of Design Awards. There’s only one month left until the October 4 deadline, so begin (or complete) your submissions today!

With 50 comprehensive categories to choose from, there are more chances to win than ever before. This a great opportunity to make sure your latest completed, unbuilt, speculative, and research-based projects receive the recognition they deserve. Our esteemed jury, comprised of New Affiliates Co-Founder Jaffer Kolb; Selldorf Architects partner Sara Lopergolo; Skidmore, Owings & Merrill associate director Carlos Madrid III; The Architectural League of New York program director Anne Rieselbach; The Architect’s Newspaper executive editor Matt Shaw; and Oana Stănescu Studio founder Oana Stănescu, will select the best Canadian, Mexican, and US building, interior, installation, representation, renovation, public, urban, and student projects.

Winners, Honorable Mentions, and Editor’s Picks in all 50 categories will be announced in the special end-of-year Best of Design magazine, in dedicated articles on and, and extensively on our social media platforms. Winners will also receive a signed limited edition poster by famous radical architecture collective Archigram.


  • Adaptive Reuse
  • Restoration & Preservation
  • Building Renovation — Single-Unit
  • Building Renovation — Multi-Unit
  • Building Renovation — Commercial
  • Building Renovation — Civic
  • Architectural Lighting — Indoor
  • Architectural Lighting — Outdoor
  • Architectural Representation — Analog
  • Architectural Representation — Digital
  • Cultural
  • Public
  • Education
  • Healthcare
  • Commercial — Hospitality
  • Commercial — Office
  • Commercial — Retail + Mixed Use
  • Digital Fabrication
  • Facades
  • Green Building
  • Infrastructure
  • Interior — Institutional
  • Interior — Healthcare
  • Interior — Hospitality
  • Interior — Residential
  • Interior — Retail
  • Interior — Workplace
  • Landscape — Residential
  • Landscape — Public
  • New Materials
  • Research
  • Residential — Multi-Unit
  • Residential — Single-Unit
  • Small Spaces
  • Temporary Installation
  • Exhibition Design
  • Unbuilt — Commercial
  • Unbuilt — Cultural
  • Unbuilt — Education
  • Unbuilt — Public
  • Unbuilt — Residential
  • Unbuilt — Urban Design
  • Unbuilt — Green
  • Unbuilt — Landscape
  • Unbuilt — Interior
  • Urban Design
  • Young Architects Award
  • Student Work — Individual
  • Student Work — Group
  • Student Work — Representation


In order for a project to be eligible for submission, it must have been completed within one year’s time of the submission deadline (October 2018). Landscape, Public, Unbuilt, and Representation projects must have been completed within two years time of the submission deadline (October 2017).

The Best Of Design Awards are open to Canadian, Mexican, U.S. and international firms (e.g., architects/ designers/ consultants/ engineers/ manufacturers), but projects submitted must be located within Canada, Mexico, or The United States.