Art Omi: Architecture announces 2020 residents and guest critic

Upstate Architecture

Art Omi: Architecture announces 2020 residents and guest critic

2019 Architecture Review (left: Justin Davidson (New York Magazine), Art Omi: Architecture Guest Critic 2019; right: Amira Baraka, Art Omi: Architecture Resident 2019) (Courtesy Art Omi)

Every year, the not-for-profit arts center, Art Omi: Architecture, invites ten architects from around the world to take part in a two-week residency in Ghent, New York. Launched in 2017, the residency program allows early to mid-career architects the chance to develop their work while receiving feedback from expert critics in an annual Architecture Review at the end of their stay. 

This week, Art Omi announced their 2020 architecture residents and guest critic, Cathleen McGuigan, editor-in-chief of Architectural Record. The residency program offers architects access to 60 acres of the Art Omi Sculpture & Architecture Park to inspire and cultivate pavilions, installations, and landscape interventions. Chosen through a competitive juried process, the residents are selected for exemplary work that operates at the intersection of architecture, art, technology, design, and urbanism. 

“Architects now, more than ever, need the time and the place to re-focus,” said Warren James, director of Art Omi: Architecture since 2016. “Once on campus, untethered, the architecture residents work on their own new ideas and, collectively, different perspectives begin to take shape.” In addition to the residency program, Art Omi: Architecture curates exhibitions at it’s Ghent location as well as annual architecture events in New York City. 

Residents will have access to shared studio space, private accommodations, and meals. The residency culminates with the annual architecture review open to the public on March 7 at Art Omi. Previous guest critics have included Curbed’s Alexandra Lange and former AN editor Julie V. Iovine. 

The 2020 Art Omi: Architecture Residents include:

Norberto Figueroa & Monica Torres (Puerto Rico)

Elsa Ponce Vargas (Mexico)

Jeffrey Halstead (Canada) 

Jeffrey James Roberson (USA)

Diego Agustin Larrain Aguado (Chile)

Camille Sherrod (USA) 

Stephanie Lin (Canada) 

Hans Tursack (USA)

Felipe Orensanz (Argentina)

The 2020 Art Omi: Architecture Jury included:

Christina de León, Associate Curator, Latino Design at Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Museum

Warren James, Director, Art Omi: Architecture

Galia Solomonoff, Founding Principal Architect, Solomonoff Architecture Studio

Allan Wexler, Artist/Architect, and Art Omi: Architecture Program Board

AN is the 2020 Art Omi Architecture Residency media sponsor.