ASLA announces its 2024 class of fellows

Higher Ground

ASLA announces its 2024 class of fellows

The American Society of Landscape Architects has named 40 professionals as Fellows. (Courtesy ASLA)

Earlier this month the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) announced 40 new individuals named ASLA Fellows. The landscape professionals recognized join the ASLA Council of Fellows and are among those granted with the professional organization’s highest honor. As in past years, selection is based on “their works, leadership/management, knowledge and service.”

“Landscape architecture makes the world a better place, and ASLA Fellows represent the most accomplished and admired leaders in the entire field,” shared ASLA President SuLin Kotowicz, who herself is Fellow. “The professionals recognized in this year’s class of ASLA Fellows have made consistent and exceptional contributions to resilience and sustainability, stronger and more beautiful communities, and human health, safety, and welfare.”

The 40 landscape professionals named this year hail from all over: small towns in New York to the islands of Hawaii, and even to The Netherlands. While some individuals elected as Fellows lead their own practice, others work for city departments, at the federal level, or at universities.

ASLA Fellows will be formally bestowed the honor at the 2024 Conference on Landscape Architecture in Washington, D.C. on October 6–9. Fellows nominated by the New York chapter of ASLA include Molly Bourne of MNLA and Dale Schafer of Wagner Hodgson Landscape Architecture.

The full list of 2024 Fellows is reproduced below, biographical information on each of the recipients can be found here.

Patricia Algara | BASE Landscape Architecture | San Francisco
Matthew Arnn | U.S. Forest Service | Washington, D.C.
Claire Bedat | U.S. Department of State | Washington, D.C.
Catherine Berris | Urban Systems | Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Anita Berrizbeitia | Harvard University | Cambridge, Massachusetts
Molly Bourne | MNLA | New York City
Jules Bruck | University of Florida | Gainesville, Florida
Karen Cesare | Novak Environmental | Tucson, Arizona
Lisa Cowan | StudioVerde | Cumberland, Maine
Lynn Crump | Scenic Virginia | Richmond, Virginia
Chris Della Vedova | Confluence | Des Moines, Iowa

Scott Emmelkamp | Planning Design Studio | St. Louis
Grace Fielder | G.E. Fielder & Associates | Laurel, Maryland
David Fletcher | Fletcher Studio | San Francisco
Pamela Galera | City of Riverside | Riverside, California
Cory Gallo | Mississippi State University | Starkville
Aan Garrett-Coleman | Coleman & Associates | Austin
Adriaan Geuze | West 8 | Rotterdam
Kim Hartley Hawkins | Hawkins Partners | Nashville
Joseph Imamura | Architect of the Capitol | Washington, D.C.
Jerany Jackson | Great River Engineering | Springfield, Missouri
Joni Janecki | Joni L. Janecki & Associates | Santa Cruz, California
Paul Kelsch | Virginia Tech | Blacksburg, Virginia
Cody Klein | OJB Landscape Architecture | Boston

J. Rebecca Leonard | Lionheart Places | Austin
Bradley McCauley | ASLA, site design group | Chicago
Charles Grant Meacci | Bolton & Menk | Charlotte, NC
Cleve Larry Mizell | Lebanon, Tennessee
Michael Murphy | Texas A&M University | College Station
Faith Okuma | Surroundings Studio | Santa Fe, New Mexico
Patsy Eubanks Owens | University of California, Davis
Laurel Raines | Dig Studio | Denver
Jane Reed Ross | Goodwyn Mills Cawood | Birmingham, Alabama
Dale Schafer | Wagner Hodgson Landscape Architecture | Hudson, New York
Christopher Schein | Hord Coplan Macht | Baltimore
Jean Senechal Biggs | City of Beaverton | Beaverton, Oregon
Michele Shelor | Colwell Shelor Landscape Architecture | Phoenix
Judith Stilgenbauer | University of Hawaii at Manoa | Manoa, Hawaii
Leo Urban | Urban Associates | Delray Beach, Florida
Glen Valentine | Stimson | Cambridge, Massachusetts