Joan B. Calambokidis Innovation in Masonry Design Competition

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Joan B. Calambokidis Innovation in Masonry Design Competition

September 18, 2017 @ 12:00 am - November 30, 2017 @ 12:00 am EDT


The inaugural Joan B. Calambokidis Innovation in Masonry Design Competition challenges architects, engineers, students, and firms to imagine the future of masonry design.

Participants should rethink the innovative potential of masonry construction by exploring approaches to energy efficiency, resiliency, sustainability, and mass customization. Use of BIM, computational design, and emerging construction and manufacturing techniques is also encouraged. All designs must incorporate one or more of the following materials: brick, concrete block, tile, marble, terrazzo, stone, and plaster. Solutions should address both the aesthetic and structural nature of masonry assembly. The proposed project could be a building; exterior building element such as a wall, floor, or roof assembly; or other concept construction. The competition invites creative freedom to allow designers to innovate without restraint.

View the competition details, brief, and register online:
Registration deadline: November 15, 2017
Submission deadline: November 30, 2017

3 grand prize winners will be awarded across 3 categories: students; young architects and engineers; and firms, multidisciplinary teams, and individual architects/engineers.

Student Category: $5,000 awarded to student(s). An additional $5,000 will be awarded to the specific school program the student(s) is enrolled in. If student team members are from different programs, colleges or universities, the $5,000 award will be split among the different programs, colleges, or universities.

Young Architects/Engineer Category (under 40): $10,000
Firms, Multidisciplinary Teams, Individual Architects/Engineers: $10,000

In addition to monetary prizes, winners may receive special publication and promotion opportunities, and will be honored in March 2018 during an awards ceremony held in Miami, Florida. Travel and accommodations to Miami will be provided by the International Masonry Institute (IMI) for up to 2 individuals from each winning category. IMI, at its sole discretion, may choose to build all or a portion of the winning design in each category at a location of its choosing.

Participants will have the opportunity to get their idea in front of a prestigious panel of renowned architects and leaders in the masonry design and construction industry.

Stephen T. Ayers, FAIA, CCM, LEED AP, Architect of the Capitol
James Boland, President, International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers & IMI Co-Chair
Stephen V. DeSimone, PE, LEED AP, President/Chief Executive of DeSimone Consulting Engineers
Julie Eizenberg, FAIA, Founding Principal of Koning Eizenberg Architecture
Alan Feltoon, AIA, AICP, Senior Director, Michael Graves Architecture & Design
Michael Schmerbeck, President, Back Brook Masonry & IMI Co-Chair
Carlos Jiménez, Principal and Lead Designer, Carlos Jiménez Studi

The following criteria will be used to judge submissions:
-Originality (30%)
-Execution of idea (40%)
-Potential for transforming the solution or idea into a new design or construction paradigm (30%)

To enter the competition, entrants are required to register online by November 15, 2017. The process is quick and easy: we only collect basic contact information at the time of registration. There are no registration or submission entry fees.

Projects must be submitted electronically following the instructions outlined in the competition brief between November 15-November 30, 2017, 23:59 EST. Submissions must include:
-Two boards with the project information including plans, sections, details and 3D images
-3D PDF file of the BIM design
-1 video of design in AVI format (max. 2 min.)
-Project statement (max 600 words)
-Complete participant information, including name, profession, mailing address, and email of each team member or individual

View the competition brief for detailed submission requirements:

-Registration opens: September 4, 2017
-Registration deadline: November 15, 2017
-Submission opens: November 15, 2017
-Submission deadline: November 30, 2017
-Winners notified/announced: February 1, 2018
-Award ceremony: March 2018

Joan B. Calambokidis served as President of the International Masonry Institute (IMI) from 1995-2017. Her tenure was marked by multiple examples of masonry innovation, including the advancement of masonry training, education, research, and technical development. Joan’s unique approach to providing state-of-the-art training and education for craftworkers, contractors, and designers alike has helped foster the level of industry collaboration required to design and build great structures.

Masonry Variations, a National Building Museum exhibit co-sponsored by the International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers and the International Masonry Institute, exemplifies Joan’s leadership in the area of masonry innovation. The exhibit featured works by 4 innovative architects, demonstrating the versatility of stone, terrazzo, brick and concrete. Joan was also responsible for the creation of Masonry Camp, a nationally-recognized program dedicated to building collaboration between designers and craftworkers. Her vision was instrumental in the development of IMI’s National Training Center, a multi-building campus that serves to educate thousands of craftworkers and designers annually.

Questions should be submitted via email to


September 18, 2017 @ 12:00 am EDT
November 30, 2017 @ 12:00 am EDT