The Dallas Museum of Art announces finalists for planned campus renovation

Shortlist Six

The Dallas Museum of Art announces finalists for planned campus renovation

(Courtesy Dallas Museum of Art)

The Dallas Museum of Art (DMA) has named the six finalist teams vying to renovate the campus of the 39-year-old institution. Of the 154 design teams that submitted credentials and qualifications to be considered, the teams led by David Chipperfield Architects, Diller Scofidio + Renfro, Johnston Marklee, Michael Maltzan Architecture, Nieto Sobejano, and Weiss/Manfredi were shortlisted.

“We are thrilled to announce our shortlist: an exhilarating mix of talent and design approach,” DMA’s Eugene McDermott Director Dr. Agustín Arteaga said in a statement. “The chosen teams feature luminaries but also smaller, less-known but gifted studios. Each is itself a fascinating collaboration, multi-faceted with diverse aspects and skills.”

In February the museum announced the design competition inviting architects to reimagine the Edward Larrabee Barnes–designed museum campus with expanded and flexible gallery spaces in order to give it “greater physical visibility and transparency,” and realize a space that is “welcoming” and “accessible to all”.

The project scope includes a reorganization of the interiors, improved circulation and entrances, and the development of a sustainability strategy.

“The challenges facing the building and the Museum are emblematic of our times,” said Competition Director Malcolm Reading. “The complex program, matched with the shortlist’s variety and talent, gives the Museum a rare opportunity: to renew one of Dallas’ most cherished institutions and give the broader museum community a case study in reuse.”

Architects from around the globe had through March 15 to assemble a design team, submit qualifications, and put together a proposal outlining their project approach. The Texas-based museum is working with Malcolm Reading Consultants (MRC) to manage the competition.

Each submission was judged by the Architect Selection Committee, an assembled jury of community members led by co-chairs philanthropist Jennifer Eagle and architect Lucilo Peña. The jury anticipated naming five design teams to the shortlist, but upped the number to six.

“Selecting the shortlist was a demanding process and the Committee’s debate around the final studios was intense and full-hearted,” said Eagle and Peña. “Nonetheless, we achieved a unanimous decision on the DMA six. We found it a privilege to study these submissions – they brimmed with ideas and were a lens on current architectural culture and practice. We thank all the competitors for their interest; if you weren’t chosen, please be consoled, the quality of submissions was exceptional.”

Finalists will now enter the next stage, a nine-week period in which they will hone their design ideas into conception. In May, to inform their designs, each of the teams will visit the site and attend a briefing. A public exhibition in early July at the DMA will present the finalist’s concepts and allow the public to weigh in. (For those not in Dallas the schemes will also be available on the competition website.) The public is also invited to the Future of the DMA: Meet the Architect Finalists Public Forum on May 13; each of the finalists will participate in the discussion moderated by competition director Malcolm Reading. Topics of conversation will include museum architecture and urbanism.

A winner is anticipated to be announced in August 2023 following another jury review and selection.

Each of the shortlisted design teams will receive an honorarium of $50,000 for their design work and up to $10,000 in expenses when the competition concludes. The total estimated budget for the project is $150 to 175 million, with funding coming from private sources.

The full shortlisted design teams are:

David Chipperfield Architects with HarrisonKornberg Architects (Local Architect); James Corner Field Operations (Landscape Architect); Pentagram (Exhibition Design); Thornton Tomasetti (Structural Engineer); Arup (Services and Lighting); and Atelier Ten (Sustainability)

Diller Scofidio + Renfro with Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates Inc. (Landscape Architect); Arup (MEP, Sustainability and Daylighting Engineer); LERA Consulting Structural Engineers (Structural Engineer); and New Affiliates (Exhibition Design)

Johnston Marklee with Christ & Gantenbein (Museum Specialists); MOS Architects (Public Realm); Sam Jacob Studio (Exhibition Design); Hargreaves Jones (Landscape Architect); Buro Happold (MEP and Sustainability Engineer); and Walter P. Moore with Martinez Moore Engineers (Structural Engineer)

Michael Maltzan Architecture with Studio Zewde (Landscape Architect); Guy Nordenson and Associates (Structural Design Engineer); Buro Happold (MEP Engineer); Atelier Ten (Sustainability); and JSA/MIXdesign (Exhibition Design and Accessibility)

Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos with Atelier Culbert (Exhibition Design); SWA Group (Landscape Architect); Arup (MEP, Lighting and Sustainability Engineer); Bollinger+Grohmann (Structural and Facade Engineer); and PGAL (Local Architect)

Weiss/Manfredi with Hood Design Studio (Landscape Architect); WeShouldDoItAll (Exhibition Design); David Van Der Leer Design Decisions (Cultural Strategists); Thornton Tomasetti (Structural Engineer); Jaros, Baum & Bolles (MEP/FP Engineer); and Atelier Ten (Sustainability)

AN will report back this summer when the design schemes have been unveiled.