ASLA announces its 2023 Honor Recipients and Fellow Elects

Highest Honor

ASLA announces its 2023 Honor Recipients and Fellow Elects

American Society of Landscape Architects 2023 Honor Recipients (Courtesy ASLA)

Earlier this month the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) announced the 2023 Honors Recipients and Fellow Elects. Both the Honor Recipients and Fellow Elects are two of the highest honors awarded by the ASLA, with Honors Recipients selected by the ASLA’s board of trustees and the fellows recognized for their contributions to both landscape architecture and society overall.

“The 2023 ASLA honorees are changing the world through their approach to landscape architecture—and their work is needed now more than ever,” said ASLA CEO Torey Carter-Conneen in a press release. “In the face of increasingly dangerous weather events and biodiversity stressors, our honorees are using their diverse array of talents to design and create a healthier world and more equitable future for all people.”

American Society of Landscape Architects 2023 Fellow Elects (Courtesy ASLA)

Among the recognized individuals and organizations practicing landscape design are six members from ASLA’s New York chapter, among this James Corner, of James Corner Field Operations; and Steven N. Handel of Rutgers University. Corner has been awarded the ASLA Design Medal for his projects which include New York’s High Line, Seattle’s Central Waterfront, Chicago’s Navy Pier, and many others. Handel was awarded The LaGasse Medal – Non-Landscape Architect Professional for his work studying the restoration of native plant communities, and ecology and biodiversity to the landscape. Also among this year’s Honor Recipients is The Cultural Landscape Foundation, the organization has been awarded the The Olmsted Medal, a fitting award given its recent endeavor to spotlight at-risk sites designed by Frederick Law Olmsted.

In addition to the Honor Recipeints, 48 members of the ASLA were named Fellows for their contributions to the landscape architecture profession and society at large. According to press materials the professionals were chosen “based on their works, leadership/management, knowledge and service.” Of the 48 individuals recognized four are from the ASLA New York chapter: Renée Byers, Taewook Cha, Michelle Delk, and Nancy Owens.

More information about the Fellow Elects can be found here. A complete list of this year’s Honors Recipients and the Fellow Elects is below:

The ASLA Medal
Patricia O’Donnell | Heritage Landscapes

The ASLA Design Medal
James Corner | James Corner Field Operations

The Community Service Award
Jim Donovan

The Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal
Sadik Artunç | Mississippi State University, Department of Landscape Architecture

The LaGasse Medal — Professional
Charles A. Flink II | Greenways Incorporated

The LaGasse Medal — Nonprofessional
Steven N. Handel | Rutgers University

The Landscape Architecture Firm Award

The ASLA Medal of Excellence
Jack Dangermond | Esri

The Olmsted Medal
The Cultural Landscape Foundation

The ASLA Emerging Professional Medal
Abigail Reimel

Honorary ASLA Members
Senator Patrick Leahy
Chelina Odbert
Alciblades Tsolakis
Jared Green
Diana Ferguson
Kristopher Pritchard
Devon Henry
Gilbert Holmes

ASLA Fellow Elects

Patrick Jay Beam | Beam Designs | Powell, Ohio
Robb Berg | Design Workshop | Denver
Tina Bishop | Mundus Bishop | Denver
C.L. Bohannon | University of Virginia | Charlottesville
Renée Byers | Renée Byers Landscape Architect | Bronxville, New York
Taewook Cha | Supermass Studio, New York
Nancy Beth Clark | Clark Condon Associates | Houston
Allison Kirkpatrick Colwell | Colwell Shelor Landscape Architecture | Phoenix
Aida Curtis | Curtis + Rogers Design Studio | Miami
M. Eric Davis | Surface 678 | Durham, North Carolina
Sharon Deep-Nelson | Landscape Architect | Birmingham, Alabama
Michelle Delk | Snøhetta | New York
Nord Eriksson | EPT Design | Pasadena, California
Yunhui (Connie) Fan | LSG Landscape Architecture | Tysons, Virginia
Craig Farnsworth | Ball State University | Muncie, Indiana
Kelleann Foster | Pennsylvania State University, State College
Kenneth Francis | Surroundings Studio | Sante Fe, New Mexico
Jay Gehler | Coleman Company | Savannah, Georgia
Robert J. Gunderson | SGA Group | Buffalo, Minnesota
Bryan Hanes | Studio Bryan Hanes | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jeffrey Hou | University of Washington, Seattle
Dorothée Imbert | The Ohio State University, Columbus
Manisha Kaul | Design Workshop | Chicago
Kate Kennen | Northeastern University | Boston
John Kett | Reed Hilderbrand | Cambridge, Massachusetts

David Koga | The Land Group | Eagle, Idaho
Joy Marie Kuebler | Joy Kuebler Landscape Architect | North Tonawanda, New York
Marieke Lacasse | GGLO | Seattle
Theodore Lee | HGA, Minneapolis
Robert Loftis | MRWM Landscape Architects | Albuquerque
Jeanne Lukenda | Resilient Great Lakes | Dover, Massachusetts
Laurie Matthews | MIG | Portland, Oregon
Emily McCoy | Design Workshop | Raleigh, North Carolina
Karen McCoy | MKSK | Columbus, Ohio
Guy Michaelsen | Berger Partnership | Seattle
Willett Moss | CMG Landscape Architecture | San Francisco
Galen D. Newman | Texas A&M University, College Station
Nancy Owens | Nancy Owens Studio | New York
Ebru Ozer | Florida International University, Miami
Robert F. Poore | Native Habitats | Flora, Mississippi
Kenneth Prince | City of Mishawaka, Indiana
Robert Rennebohm | Rennebohm & Associates | Clive, Iowa
Kirt Rieder | Hargreaves Jones | Cambridge, Massachusetts
Stephen Schrader | Renta Urban Land Design | Birmingham, Alabama
Kate Stickley | Arterra Landscape Architects | San Francisco
Jennifer Toole | Toole Design Group | Silver Spring, Maryland
Mauricio Villarreal | PLACE | Portland, Oregon
Bo Yang | University of Arizona, Tucson