Registration Open! Here's what you need to know about AN's 3rd Annual Best of Design Awards

Registration Open! Here's what you need to know about AN's 3rd Annual Best of Design Awards

Register now! (The Architect’s Newspaper)

The Architect’s Newspaper is thrilled to announce its 3rd Annual Best of Design Awards. It’s a unique opportunity to showcase your great buildings, building elements, and other architectural-based categories that are not covered by other competitions.

Best of Landscape: Clark Art Institute, Williamstown, Massachusetts, Reed Hilderbrand, Tadao Ando, Gensler. (JEFF GOLDBERG)

This year, AN‘s Best of Design Awards has expanded to include 18 categories. Here are just a few of the new additions to this year’s categories:

Building of the Year
Since AN publishes four regional editions—East, West, Midwest, and Southwest, we’re seeking the best new building in each of these regions.

Architectural Models
Whichever form is your favorite—virtual or analog, interior or exterior, landscaping or urban— show the world how you build, just at a smaller scale. Your model does not need to have come to fruition. All scaled architecture types are eligible.

Temporary Installation
Whether your installation is a site-specific exhibition or it created an entirely new site, enter your work that showcases materials, techniques and invention.

Urban Design
Built or unbuilt, enter your design plans that focus on groupings of buildings, street and public spaces to create a more sustainable and functional neighborhood or city.

Young Architects Award
Emerging architects or firms often have the talent but don’t always get the glory. This category seeks to celebrate the work of young practices (10 years or less) or professionals (35 years or less). All project types are eligible.

Best Of: Multi-Family Residential: 185 Plymouth Street, Brooklyn, New York, Alloy. (RICHARD BARNES / COURTESY ALLOY )

Competition entrants will be judged by a jury that includes Craig Dykers, founding partner of Snøhetta; Julio Braga, principal of IA Interior Architects; and Ana Garcia Puyol, computational designer at Thornton Tomasetti and winner in the student built work category of last year’s Best of Design Awards. For each category winner and honorable mentions, the jury will be looking at a project’s strength of presentation, evidence of innovation, creative use of new technology, sustainability, and, most importantly, good design.

Registration is open through October 9th and the submission deadline is November 2nd. Much more information about the competition, including past years’ winners, see the Best of Design Awards site.