RIBA unveils the 2016 Stirling Prize shortlist

Six Firms Nominated

RIBA unveils the 2016 Stirling Prize shortlist

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced this years Stirling Prize shortlist. Comprising six builds from six firms, the winners will be crowned on October 6 this year for what is Britain’s most prestigious architecture award.

Up for nomination are London firm Wilkinson Eyre who could potentially win their third Stirling Prize, something which is yet to be achieved. Their project, a conversion of Oxford University’s Grade 1 listed Weston Library joins Swiss firm Herzog and de Meuron‘s for the university, the Blavatnik School of Government. Making up three projects in the education sector (half of the shortlist), is the City of Glasgow College riverside campus from Michael Laird Architects and Reiach & Hall. The sector appears to be a good source of architectural prowess as last year, Burntwood School in South London by AHMM won the award.

London practice dRMM and and Cardiff-based studio Loyn & Co received recognition two residential projects: Trafalgar Place, a complex part of the Elephant & Castle redevelopment in South London, and Inside Outside House, a dwelling in the Forest of Dean, Southeast Wales. Loyn & Co’s private residency is the first to make the shortlist in 15 years and is also in the running for RIBA’s House of the Year Award.

AHMM's Burntwood School in Wandsworth, South London. (Courtesy Rob Parrish)
AHMM’s Burntwood School in Wandsworth, South London. (Courtesy Rob Parrish)

The final addition to the list, but by no means the least worthy, is another London firm, Caruso St. John who make their second appearance on the shortlist. This time they’re up for nomination courtesy of their brick-heavy facade Newport Street Gallery in Vauxhall, London for British artist Damien Hirst which features an elegant wooden spiral staircase.

Judging this years entries will be Patrik Schumacher of ZHA; Paul Monaghan of last year’s winning firm AHMM; Roisin Heneghan of Heneghan and Peng; Michael Hussey, Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors; and Rachel Whiteread, a renowned British sculptor who won the Turner Prize in 1993.