Booth Hansen, UrbanLab, SOM, more take home 2014 AIA Chicago awards

Booth Hansen, UrbanLab, SOM, more take home 2014 AIA Chicago awards

Urban Lab's live/work residence (top) and studio on Morgan Street in Chicago's Bridgeport neighborhood. (Chris Bentley)
Urban Lab’s live/work residence (top) and studio on Morgan Street in Chicago’s Bridgeport neighborhood. (Chris Bentley / AN)

Via the Chicago Tribune, here are AIA Chicago’s 2014 architecture award winners, revealed Monday:


Honor Award
•Beverly Shores Residence, Beverly Shores, Ind. — Booth Hansen
•Jinao Tower, Nanjing, China — Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
•Morgan Street Live + Work, Chicago — UrbanLab
•Orchard Willow Residence, Chicago — Wheeler Kearns Architects
•William Jones College Preparatory High School, Chicago — Perkins+Will

Citation of Merit
•FKI Tower, Seoul, South Korea — Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture
•New Faith Baptist Church International Worship Center, Matteson, Ill. — Harding Partners
•Ohio State University South Campus Chiller, Columbus, Ohio — Ross Barney Architects
•WMS Boathouse at Clark Park, Chicago — Studio Gang Architects
•University of Minnesota at Duluth Labovitz School of Business & Economics, Duluth, Minn. — Perkins+Will

Special Recognition
•Harbert Cottage, Harbert, Mich. — Searl Lamaster Howe Architects
•Jacob K. Javits Convention Center renovation, New York City — FXFOWLE/Epstein joint venture
•Wrigley Building, Chicago — Goettsch Partners


Honor Award
•American Society for Clinical Pathology Expansion, Chicago — Epstein
•Booth 455, Chicago — Woodhouse Tinucci Architects
•Kids Science Labs, Chicago — Woodhouse Tinucci Architects

Citation of Merit
•Chapel and Office Wing, Lisle, Ill. — Harding Partners

Special Recognition
•PAHC Studio, Chicago — Studio Gang Architects
•Pearson Residence, Chicago — Searl Lamaster Howe Architects


Honor Award
•Congregation Solel reading table, Highland Park, Ill. — Eckenhoff Saunders Architects
•University of Minnesota at Duluth, Pickle Barrel Scuppers, Duluth, Minn. — Ross Barney Architects

Citation of Merit
•Soochow Securities Headquarters, Suzhou, China — Goettsch Partners
•University of Chicago Administration Building Portal, Chicago — Krueck + Sexton Architects

Special Recognition
•Charles Deering Library West Entry, Evanston, Ill. — HBRA Architects
•Illinois State Capitol Exterior Doors, Springfield, Ill. — Vinci-Hamp Architects


Honor Award
•Liansheng Financial Center, Taiyuan, China — Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
•U.S. Air Force Academy Center for Character & Leadership Development, Colorado Springs, Colo. — Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Citation of Merit
•Nozul Lusail Marina, Doha, Qatar — Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
•Tata Main Hospital, Jamshedpur, India — CannonDesign
•Urban Filter Office Building, Geneva — John Ronan Architects

Special Recognition
•Bus Rapid Transit: HALO, Chicago — RTKL Associates
•Haiti Cathedral, Port-au-Prince, Haiti — Epstein/Metter Studio
•Virtual Water, Queens, N.Y. — UrbanLab